Delhi, Noida, Mumbai, Chennai, Bengaluru, Kolkata among 130 red zones designated by govt for ‘no activity’ after May 3

130 red zones have been categorized, where more stringent restrictions will be enforced post May 3. Meanwhile, there will be partial easing in orange zones and liberal easing in green zones.

lockdown extension

As per reports, the Union health ministry has split 733 districts across India into red, orange and green zones. Districts under red zones will face more stringent restrictions post May 3. As per the list, 130 red zones have been categorized. However, there will be partial easing in orange zones and liberal easing in green zones.

Reports claim that all the metropolitan cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru and Ahmedabad have been designated under red zone where ‘no activity’ even after the lockdown ends on May 3.

According to the released list, Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra have the maximum number of red zones at 19 and 14 respectively, followed by Tamil Nadu at 12. While all of Delhi’s 11 districts have been marked as ‘no activity’ zones.

In Uttar Pradesh, NCR, Gautam Buddha Nagar, has been marked under red zone category, Other red districts of Uttar Pradesh are Lucknow, Agra, Moradabad, Firozabad, Bulandshahr, Meerut, Rae Bareli, Varanasi, Bijnor, Amroha, Sant Kabir Nagar, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Kanpur Nagar, Muzaffarnagar, Rampur, Mathura and Bareilly.

Meanwhile, Delhi’s other NCR, Gurgaon and Ghaziabad have been marked under orange zone category.

Suburbs of Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and Mumbai suburban have been designated as red zones. Other districts under red category in Maharashtra are Pune, Nashik, Aurangabad, Satara, Dhule, Akola, Nagpur, Solapur, Yavatmal, Jalgaon and Raigad.

List of districts under Red, Orange and Green Zone :

Red Zones

red zone

Orange Zones

Green Zones

According to reports, the Union Home Ministry held a comprehensive review meeting on the lockdown situation in the country and has analyzed that there have been enormous gains and improvement in the Covid-19 situation due to the lockdown till now.

The home ministry spokesperson tweeted “New guidelines to fight #COVID19 will come into effect from 4th May, which shall give considerable relaxations to many districts. Details regarding this shall be communicated in the days to come.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *